Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2012 Hosts

2012 Presenters

2012 Award Winners

  • The Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Youngblood,
  • Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Mimi Lien,
  • Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Jim Fletcher,
  • Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Mark Barton,
  • Special Citation
    • Mark Bennett, Denis O'Hare, Lisa Peterson, and Stephen Spinella, An Iliad
    • Erin Courtney and Ken Rus Schmoll, A Map of Virtue
    • Elevator Repair Service,
    • Steven Hoggett, Martin Lowe, and John Tiffany, Once
    • Daniel Kitson, It's Always Right Now, Until It's Later
    • Ethan Lipton & His Orchestra, No Place to Go
  • Sound Design
    • Matt Tierney and Ben Williams, The Select (The Sun Also Rises)
  • Playwriting
    • Kristen Greenidge, Milk Like Sugar
  • Performance
    • Steven Boyer, Hand to God
    • Cherise Boothe, Milk Like Sugar
    • Gabriel Ebert and Mary Louise Wilson, 4000 Miles
    • Santino Fontana, Sons of the Prophet
    • Linda Lavin, The Lyons
    • Susan Pourfar, Tribes
  • Obie Grant
    • The Bushwick Starr,
    • The Debate Society,
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Caridad Svich,
  • Ensemble Performance
    • Jon DeVries, Shuler Hensley, Maryann Plunkett, Laila Robbins, Jay O. Sanders, J. Smith-Cameron, Sweet and Sad
  • Direction
    • Richard Maxwell, Early Plays
    • Jay Scheib, World of Wires
  • Best New American Play
    • Amy Herzog, 4000 Miles

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.