Wangari Maathai

  • Blogs

    October 7, 2011

    Nobel Peace Prize Goes to Three Women

    The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to three women: Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee, and Yemeni rights campaigner Tawakkul Karman. They're being recognized "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full partici ... More >>

  • News

    March 8, 2005

    Nobel-Winning Wangari Maathai on Democracy

    Amid frenzied talk of freedom, a seasoned voice from Africa