A must for local college hoops fans, this year’s Big East Championship Tournament will be the end of the Big East as we’ve known it. On June 30, the seven basketball-only schools—Seton Hall, Georgetown, Villanova, St. John’s, Marquette, DePaul, and Providence (a/k/a “The Catholic 7”)—will break off into their own conference. They will add a few teams but still retain the name Big East, for what that’s worth, and play their finals at the Garden, which is good for New York fans who love top-notch roundball within easy reach. As we go to press, the seeds have not been decided, but watch for Georgetown, Louisville, and Marquette (all tied in first place at 13-4) to be fighting to go all the way to today’s title game. There are from two to four games being played from Tuesday, March 12, through Friday, March 15, so check the schedule as soon as the teams are announced.
Sat., March 16, 8:30 p.m., 2013

Use Current Location

Related Location

Madison Square Garden

Seventh Ave. & 32nd St.
New York, NY 10001



Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >