Wadada Leo Smith's Golden Quartet

The superb trumpeter and spiritually attuned composer presents the local premiere of Ten Freedom Summers. Based on the Civil Rights movement, the three-part work devotes sections to Brown v. Board of Education and the Little Rock Nine. Expect fluidly dramatic performances from tonight's version of his ever-changing Golden Quartet, which includes Angelica Sanchez (piano), John Lindberg (bass), and Pheeroan akLaff (drums).
Sun., June 5, 7:30 p.m., 2011

Sponsor Content

More Voice Choices News


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >