Theater archives

Blackburn Award Winners


Playwright Jessica Goldberg has won first prize in the 21st
annual Susan Smith Blackburn awards, for her play Refuge. The Blackburn prizes are awarded yearly to women who’ve written “works of outstanding quality for the English-speaking theatre.” Second prize went to Julie Hebert for her play The Knee Desires the Dirt. The nine other finalists were Judith Adams for The Bone Room, Hilary Bell for Shot While Dancing, Sara Clifford for A Thousand Days, Eve Ensler for Lemonade, Rebecca Gilman for Spinning Into Butter, Yazmine Judd for Unfinished Business, Liz Lochhead for Perfect Days, Kira Obolensky for Lobster Alice, and Diana Son for Stop Kiss.