Remembering Those Who Passed


8:57 pm David Zinn has won an Obie for Sustained Excellence of Set and Costume Design

8:53 pm Now it’s time to present the Ross Wetzsteon Award. This is a $2000 grant given to a theater that fosters innovative new playwriting. The award is in memory of the Voice’s longtime theater editor and Obie committee chairman. And the winner is … the Cherry Lane Theater Mentor Project!

8:49 pm Michael Feingold introduces a moment of silence for those in the community who passed away this year. “We lost a lot of people this year who are very important to us and … to the Village Voice,” he said, mentioning Norman Mailer and Fred McDarrah. “It’s what we make of remembering them, it’s what we make of the memories they left. And how we build on them … The history they made is the history you build on.”

8:44 pm The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to the celebrated playwright Adrienne Kennedy, 76, whose drama, The Ohio State Murders, was staged this season by Theatre for a New Audience. Adrienne could not be here tonight, so LisaGay Hamilton has been asked to accept on her behalf. The Obie has a reach and a glamor and in particular a New York glamour.

8:41 pm Rebecca Wisocky has won an Obie for Amazons and Their Men (Clubbed Thumb). Groff called her “an actress of rare beauty, force, and cunning.”

This article from the Village Voice Archive was posted on May 19, 2008


Archive Highlights