New York

Tuesday’s Headlines: Ruth Madoff fighting Bernie’s victims for ‘her’ $62 million


[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Tuesday New York headlines…

Ruth Madoff fights her husband’s victims to keep their hands off $62 million she stashed away.

Ex-Islanders owners accused of mini-Madoff scheme, stealing $554 million, whine to judge they’ll starve if assets are frozen.

Rapacious building owners now suddenly screwed, renters in foreclosed large apartment complexes may actually benefit from Wall Street greed.

Victoria “Growing Up” Gotti takes lie-detector test she says proves she didn’t sleep with mob rat John Alite.

If an MTA rescue is hammered out by the state Legislature, much credit should go to 75-year-old Richard Ravitch, the Times says.

Another Irish NY archbishop: the Times wonders, when is it going to be a Latino’s turn? (Our Wayne Barrett pondered the same thing last week.)

Two new Bloomberg high schools in the Bronx added to the state’s failing schools list even after getting ‘B’ and ‘C’ grades from the city.

Bloomberg hears it from moms unhappy with his last-minute decision to close schools for yesterday’s snow day.

Film industry insists it needs incentives to keep filming in NY city.

Special election to be held in April for vacant Bronx borough president seat.

NYPD divers save suicidal man from icy Hudson.

City took cop’s badge because he was a psycho who saw demons in the station house — now the ex-cop suing because NYPD violated his religious rights!

Pedro Martinez wants to pitch again, but not if it means a Glavine-like rock-bottom one-year contract.

Find it at

Michael Musto’s blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin’ Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman’s film reviews
Michael Feingold’s theater reviews
Robert Sietsema’s food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio’s food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla’s music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman’s news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin’s news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Most Popular