New York

Tuesday’s Headlines: Supreme Court blows away Bloomie’s gun lawsuit


[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Tuesday New York headlines…

Supreme Court sides with gunmakers by not hearing NY suit that claimed makers were liable for flood of illicit firearms.

Daily News: Carrión’s house renovation done by architect who needed the borough president’s approval on a Bronx development. No comment from White House.

Why Borukhova didn’t hear the shots that killed her ex-husband – she’s lying about being there, prosecutor theorizes.

Bizarre turn in rabbi molest trial: grown daughter says it was mom who was the sex abuser.

For this, a night in jail? Queens man held for going through the kind of subway station emergency exit that people go through all day all over town.

AIG has cost us $170 billion in bailout money, but Michael Daly is more offended that one of its employees was bored at a trial about a firefighter’s death.

The horror! Socialite at charity ball forced to wear a 10-year-old dress for the second time! (More Times white panic in tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How’s a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, others pawn high-priced art to keep wolf from the door. 5. Oh the Humanities! Profs squirm at making the case for practical uses of liberal arts
. 6. Developers face terrifying prospect of only getting $1.1 million for a 2-bedroom condo. 7. Laid-off 55-year-old human resources coordinator with wealthy
day-trader husband takes unspeakably menial position, working for a week as a nanny
. 8. Someone get the smelling salts! — women at Barney’s now buying $300 face creams only three at a time instead of six. 9. Ultimate white nightmare: from $70K manager to $12/hour janitor. 10. Dumping the Rolls Royce only because it’s unfashionable. 11. My horrible McMansion is suddenly worth only $1 million, where’s my bailout? 12. The riches are panicking, stuffing $1 million cash in $4,000 safes, now selling like hotcakes.)

Corzine faces difficult task to repeat as Jersey’s governor.

Study of young homeless shows most are from tough backgrounds and have little chance for employment.

Former Saks employee acquitted of stealing $1.4 million, convicted of lesser charge.

K-Rock switching to Top 40, third change since Stern left.

A-Rod’s hip surgery is successful; now 9 weeks of rehab.

Santana feeling better: first spring start will be this Thursday.

Hurricanes blow away the Rangers, 3-0.

Find it at

Michael Musto’s blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin’ Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman’s film reviews
Michael Feingold’s theater reviews
Robert Sietsema’s food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio’s food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla’s music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman’s news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin’s news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Most Popular