Theater archives

The 2009–2010 Off-Broadway Season Winners


The Sustained Achievement Award

David Greenspan

Best New American Play (includes a $1000 prize)

Annie Baker, Circle Mirror Transformation and The Aliens


Reed Birney, Tracee Chimo, Peter Friedman, Deirdre O’Connell, Heidi Schreck, ensemble Circle Mirror Transformation

Dane DeHaan, The Aliens

Jonathan Hammond, The Boys in the Band

Marc Damon Johnson, The Brother/Sister Plays

Laurie Metcalf, A Lie of the Mind

Wendell Pierce, sustained excellence of performance

Juliet Rylance, As You Like It

Rocco Sisto, sustained excellence of performance


Enda Walsh, The New Electric Ballroom


Sam Gold, Circle Mirror Transformation and The Aliens

Pam MacKinnon, Clybourne Park

Design / Music

Steven Dufala and Billy Blaise Dufala, machine design, Machines Machines Machines Machines Machines Machines Machines

Stephin Merritt, music & lyrics, Coraline

Tyler Micoleau, sustained excellence of lighting design

Neil Murray (sets and costumes), Malcolm Rippeth (lighting), Gemma Carrington and Jon Driscoll (projection design), Brief Encounter

Special Citations

Ariane Mnouchkine & Théâtre du Soleil, Les Éphémères

Taylor Mac, The Lily’s Revenge

The Ohio Theatre

Hoi Polloi (Alec Duffy, Dave Malloy, and Rick Burkhardt) and Rachel Chavkin, Three Pianos

Philippe Quesne and Gaëtan Vourc’h, L’Effet de Serge

Chris Wells, The Secret City

The Ross Wetzsteon Award (includes a $1000 prize)

Foundry Theatre

Obie Grants

Harlem School of the Arts

Ontological Incubator

Vampire Cowboys

Ceremony Hosts

Michael Cerveris

Anika Noni Rose

Award Presenters

J. Smith-Cameron

Marin Ireland

Linda Lavin

Hamish Linklater

Michael Shannon

Jennifer Westfeldt

Lillias White (who introduced the Fela! performers)

Obie Award Judges

Michael Feingold, Chairman

Andy Propst, Secretary

Kristin Marting

Ralph B. Peña

Martha Plimpton

Alexis Soloski