Tina Fey is One Step Closer to Ruling the Cosmos


Congratulations to New York’s girl with the most cake, Tina Fey, for winning the 2010 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, the nation’s highest honor for those with easy, grossly unfair access to Jon Hamm comedy. The 30 Rock actress/writer will accept the award in November in a ceremony at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.

In a statement released yesterday, Fey said, “I am truly thrilled to receive this honor. I assume Betty White was disqualified for steroid use.”

Fey’s win makes her, at 40, the youngest honoree in the award’s 13-year history, as well as only the third woman (after Whoopi Goldberg and Lily Tomlin). Past inductees include Richard Pryor (1998), Bob Newhart (2002), and Fey’s former boss, Saturday Night Live creator/executive producer Lorne Michaels (2004).