New York Anti-Violence Project Honors the Voice’s Steven Thrasher


Congrats to Voice staff writer Steven Thrasher, who has been awarded the 2010 Courage Award by the New York Anti-Violence Project — the oldest organization in the nation that combats violence toward and within the LGBT community. We are proud to have this amazing writer (and human) in our midst!

“Each year, AVP presents the Courage Awards, highlighting the significant contributions of members of our community and allies, whose thoughtful and meaningful work inspires us,” wrote AVP’s executive director Sharon Stapel in a letter to Thrasher. “As we celebrate our 30th Anniversary this year, our mission remains addressing the root causes of violence committed against and within our communities, while providing services and outreach to survivors.”

Stapel continued, “Your work at the Village Voice, particularly your coverage of proposed state funding cuts for domestic violence, has been exemplary. In recognition of your work as a community activist, advocate and journalist, we would like to honor you with a 2010 Courage Award. In accepting this award, you will join the distinguished company of past awardees including: progressive LGBTQ bloggers — Bill Browning, Joe Jervis, Pam Spaulding and Andy Towle, Tony Kushner, Emil Wilbekin and George C. Wolfe to name but a few.”

Kudos, also, to Thrasher’s co-honorees, journalist Duncan Osborne of Gay City News and the Paul Rapoport Foundation.

The awards ceremony, hosted by BD Wong, will take place on October 18 at the Prince George Ballroom on East 27th Street. The 2010 Honorary Chairs include the Executive Directors from AVP’s founding to the present, including David Wertheimer, Matt Foreman, New York City Council Speaker Christine C. Quinn, Richard Haymes, Clarence Patton, and Sharon Stapel. Hate violence survivor Jessie Estrella will give remarks.

Most Popular