Hear A New PJ Harvey Song, “Written On The Forehead”


The indomitable PJ Harvey has a new record, Let England Shake, due out in mid-February; head to her website right now to hear “Written on the Forehead,” a soft, elegiac, reggae-sample-driven drifter, Harvey singing “Let it burn/Let it burn/Let it burn burn burn” in a high, wistful, far-less-threatening-than-usual voice. No NYC tour dates yet, but she’ll get around to it; the full Shake tracklist, full of dependable darkness and menace (from “The Last Living Rose” on), is below.

01 Let England Shake

02 The Last Living Rose

03 The Glorious Land

04 The Words That Maketh Murder

05 All and Everyone

06 On Battleship Hill

07 England

08 In the Dark Places

09 Bitter Branches

10 Hanging in the Wire

11 Written on the Forehead

12 The Colour of the Earth