Voice Choices



Johnny Temple, the bassist for post-hardcore rockers Girls Against Boys, has published more than a few musicians since starting Akashic Books in 1996, including Ryan Adams, Lydia Lunch, and Richard Hell. The latest to join Akashic’s roster is Nathan Larson, the lead guitarist for Shudder to Think and award-winning film music composer (Boys Don’t Cry, Dirty Pretty Things, and The Messenger), who will read from his debut novel, The Dewey Decimal System. The book concerns a man who takes up residence in the New York Public Library after a major catastrophe hits the city. The program, titled Akashic All-Stars, also includes readings by Nina Revoyr (Wingshooters), Kevin Holohan (The Brothers’ Lot), David Unger (The Price of Escape), and Persia Walker (Black Orchid Blues).

Tue., April 19, 7 p.m., 2011

This article from the Village Voice Archive was posted on April 6, 2011

Archive Highlights