The Cure


Tonight, in a rare moment of nostalgia, His Royal Lowness—the eternally made-up and melancholy Robert Smith—will be leading his bandmates in the Cure through their first three albums. Over the course of four 40-minute sets, they’ll play the 1979 post-punk masterpiece, Three Imaginary Boys, 1980’s forlorn Seventeen Seconds, and the moody 1981 LP Faith, as well as a set of “encores of the period” (read: “Boys Don’t Cry”). In addition to Smith’s foil, bassist Simon Gallup, the band’s lineup will include Disintegration-era keyboardist Roger O’Donnell, original drummer Lol Tollhurst, and long-running drummer Jason Cooper. Black fingernail polish optional.

Fri., Nov. 25, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 26, 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 27, 8 p.m., 2011