Domino’s Pizza is jumping on the gluten-free bandwagon. The chain restaurant has partnered up with the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness and will be rolling out a gluten-free crust. Ingredients: rice starch, water, rice flour, olive oil, and potato starch.
“Domino’s new Gluten Free Crust pizza tastes unlike any on the market that we’ve tried,” the company notes. “Which is to say, it actually tastes like pizza.”
Although the pizza is great for people with a gluten sensitivity, it’s not necessarily safe for those with Celiac disease.
“While Domino’s new Gluten Free Crust is appropriate for those with mild gluten sensitivity, Domino’s and the NFCA do not recommend it for those with Celiac disease,” the press release states. “Domino’s and the NFCA found that while the crust is certified as gluten free, current store operations at Domino’s cannot guarantee that each handcrafted pizza will be completely free from gluten.” The product has a gluten content of less than 20 milligrams of gluten.
This article from the Village Voice Archive was posted on May 7, 2012