Rubén Díaz Jr. Re-Elected Borough President in the Bronx


Incumbent Democrat Rubén Díaz Jr. was re-elected borough president of the Bronx in a landslide. Díaz was not always running for re-election; he ditched his bid for public advocate and instead refocused his efforts on the borough presidency in November 2012.

There weren’t any races that were that hotly contested in the Bronx. It’s a clean sweep for the Democrats, incumbents and challengers alike. Here’s a roundup of all the races in the borough.

Borough President — 48 percent of precincts reporting
WINNER: Ruben Díaz Jr., Democratic Party, Working Families Party: 88.2 percent (51,585 votes)
Elizabeth Perri, Republican Party, Conservative Party: 9 percent (5,261 votes)
Mark Escoffery-Bey, Independence Party, War Veterans Party: 1.6 percent (937 votes)
Carl Lawrence Lundgren, Green Party: 1.2 percent (692 votes)

City Councilmember, 11th District
WINNER: Andrew Cohen, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Patricia Brink, Republican Party
William Kalaidjian, Conservative Party
John H. Reynolds, Green Party
Cheryl Keeling, School Choice Party

City Councilmember, 12th District
WINNER: Andy L. King, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Robert Diamond, Republican Party, Conservative Party
Trevor Archer, Green Party

City Councilmember, 13th District
WINNER: James Vacca, Democratic Party
William E. Britt, Jr., Republican Party, Conservative Party

City Councilmember, 14th District
WINNER: Fernando Cabrera, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Denise Butler, Republican Party
Alan H. Reed, Conservative Party

City Councilmember, 15th District
WINNER: Ritchie Torres, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Joel Ray Rivera, Republican Party
Joel Bauza, Conservative Party

More results on page two…

City Councilmember, 16th District
WINNER: Vanessa L. Gibson, Democratic Party
Benjamin Eggleston, Republican Party, Conservative Party
Carlos M. Sierra, Independence Party
Walter L. Newsome, Jobs and Education Party

City Councilmember, 17th District
WINNER: Maria del Carmen Arroyo, Democratic Party
Jose A. Colon, Republican Party
Selsia Evans, Conservative Party

City Councilmember, 18th District
WINNER: Annabel Palma, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Lamont L. Paul, Republican Party
Eduardo Ramirez, Conservative Party
Walter Nestler, Green Party, Progressive Party
William Russell Moore, Jobs and Education Party

Supreme Court, 12th District
Laura G. Douglas
Kevin P. Kuehner
Julia I. Rodriguez
Norma Ruiz
Larry S. Schachner
Robert. D. Siano
John H. Wilson

New York City Civil Court, Bronx County
Paul L. Alpert
Harry Hertzberg

New York City Civil Court, First District
Armando Montano
Lucianna Locorotondo

New York City Civil Court, Second District
WINNER: Kim A. Wilson