Coming This Spring: The Village Voice’s 61st Annual Obie Awards


The Obie awards, Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway’s highest honor, returns to the stage again this spring. 

Since the Village Voice established the Obies in 1956, winners have been a veritable who’s-who of theatrical talent in New York, saluting the most innovative and exceptional work on (and off) the stage. In 2014, the American Theatre Wing got into the Obie action, partnering with the Voice to honor New York theater’s finest with Obies for years to come. 

The Voice and the American Theatre Wing just announced that the 61st annual Obie awards will be held at Webster Hall on May 23, with a killer host to boot.

Lea DeLaria, an Obie and Screen Actors Guild Award–winning actress, will return to host the show for the second year in a row. Since the premiere of Orange Is the New Black in 2013, she’s been recognizable as her outspoken character Carrie “Big Boo” Black. However, DeLaria’s had a close relationship with the theater, performing as a comedian, actress, and jazz musician years before her breakout role.

Meet the judges of the 2015–16 Obie awards: 

  • Michael Feingold, a Voice theater columnist and longtime Obie Judge chairman
  • Quincy Tyler Bernstine, a 2009 Obie winner for her performance as Salima in Ruined
  • Oliver Butler, a 2014 Obie winner for his direction of The Open House
  • Ricky Ian Gordon, a 2006 Obie winner for his composition of Orpheus and Eurydice
  • Clint Ramos, a 2013 Obie winner for sustained excellence of costume design
  • Juliet Rylance, a 2010 Obie winner for her performance as Rosalind in As You Like It
  • Marilyn Stasio, Variety‘s senior critic

For a complete list of Obie award winners from years past, visit the Voice‘s Obies archive.