Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2000 Award Winners

  • Voice Judges
    • Michael Feingold, James Hannaham, Alisa Solomon
  • Sustained Achievement
    • Ping Chong
      Sustained Achievement
  • Special Citations
    • Jan Lauwers / Needcompany, Morning Song
    • Joe Mantello and Marc Wolf, Another American: Asking and Telling
    • The Builders Association and Diller + Scofidio, Jet Lag
    • Jesusa Rodriguez and Liliana Felipe, Las Horas de Belen -- A Book of Hours
    • Bill Talen, The Reverend Billy
    • Maria Irene Fornes, Letters From Cuba
    • Deb Margolin
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Sarah E. Johnson, Lava Love
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • The Foundry
  • Playwriting
    • Harley Granville Barker, Waste
  • Performance
    • Dominique Dibbell, Jet Lag
    • Cynthia Hopkins, Another Telepathic Thing
    • Byron Jennings, Waste
    • Lola Pashalinski, Gertrude and Alice
    • Charlayne Woodard, In the Blood
    • Christopher Evan Welch, A Streetcar Named Desire
    • Elizabeth Marvel, A Streetcar Named Desire
    • Lynne Thigpen, Jar the Floor
    • Colm Meaney, The Cider House Rules: Part One, Here in St. Cloud's
    • The Cast of Jitney
      Excellence of Ensemble Performance
    • Eileen Heckart, The Waverly Gallery
    • Eddie Korbich, Taking a Chance on Love
    • Debra Monk, The Time of the Cuckoo
  • Obie Grant
    • Five Myles
    • Circus Amok
    • Big Dance Theater
  • Guest Judges
    • Holly Hughes, Jo Bonney, Neil Patel, Mac Wellman
  • Direction
    • Marion McClinton, Jitney
  • Design
    • David Gallo
      Sustained Excellence Set Design
    • Susan Hilferty
      Sustained Excellence Costume Design
    • Christopher Akerlind
      Sustained Excellence Lighting Design
    • Mark Dendy
      Choreography for The Wild Party
    • Jan Hartley
      Sustained Excellence Projection Design
  • Chairman
    • Brian Parks
  • Best Production
    • Ben Katchor, Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe, Bob McGrath, The Carbon Copy Building
  • Asst. To Committee
    • Charles McNulty


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >