Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2005 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • John Guare
  • Special Citations
    • The Imagine Festival of Arts, Issues & Ideas
    • Hell Meets Henry Halfway
    • Sin: A Cardinal Deposed
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • New Dramatists
  • Playwriting
    • Christopher Shinn, Where Do We Live
    • John Patrick Shanley, Doubt
    • Caryl Churchill, A Number
    • Lynn Nottage, Fabulation
  • Performance
    • Jeremy Shamos, Engaged
    • Elizabeth Marvel, Hedda Gabler
    • Jason Butler Harner, Hedda Gabler
    • Rosemary Allen, Good Samaritans
    • Cherry Jones, Doubt
    • Larry Bryggman, Romance
    • Kieran Culkin, After Ashley
    • Mercedes Ruehl, Woman Before A Glass
    • LaChanze, Dessa Rose
    • Deidre O'Connell
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Vivienne Benesch, Going to St. Ives
    • L. Scott Caldwell, Going to St. Ives
  • Obie Grant
    • 13P
    • Epic Theatre Company
    • Little Theater at Tonic
    • Gina Gionfriddo
      Distinguished Emerging Playwright ($1000)
    • Margo Skinner
      Memorial Acting Scholarship ($1000)
  • Direction
    • Dan Wackerman, Counsellor-At-Law
    • Ivo van Hove, Hedda Gabler
    • Doug Hughes
      sustained excellence of direction
  • Design
    • John Lee Beatty, Engaged
      set design
    • Rui Rita, Engaged
      lighting design
    • Aural Fixation, Engaged
      Sound & Music sound design
    • Catherine Zuber, Engaged
      costume design
    • Thomas Lynch, Woman Before A Glass
      set design
    • Phil Monat, Woman Before A Glass
      lighting design
    • David Van Tieghem, Woman Before A Glass
      sound design
    • Willa Kim, Woman Before A Glass
      costume design
    • Jan Versweyveld, Hedda Gabler
      set design


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >